Posted by: Andrea | July 12, 2011

As Long As It Takes

Today I went for a walk with my ipod on shuffle, not paying much attention to the songs that came on…until this one.  Something about the lyrics to this song captured my attention and pulled me in.  Maybe you can relate.

Have you ever experienced a time where you wanted something so badly, but no matter how often you pray for it or how many different ways you try to make it happen for yourself, what you’re hoping for just seems elusive, leaving you feeling discouraged and a little hopeless?  Do you question whether God is really hearing your prayers and if so, what in the world His reasoning would be for holding it back?

Of course at other times, with other things in life, what you’re hoping and praying for just seems to drop in your lap so easily.  It’s hard to grasp why God answers our prayers and gifts us with the desire of our hearts so quickly with some things, and other times He seems to be withholding something that we desire so greatly.  The one thing it certainly reminds me of is that the Lord is sovereign.  He can make things happen where it seems absolutely impossible…and He can block things from happening in ways that you know it could only be His doing.  I don’t pretend to understand why that is, but I do know that He is faithful and His sovereignty can be trusted.  We often think our hearts know what is best for us, but we actually only see a small part of the big picture, whereas He sees it all.

It’s not always easy for me to trust Him and wait on His timing.  Sometimes I try to rush ahead of Him and make things happen myself (which inevidibly leaves me feeling frustrated and discouraged).  It’s times like those when I’m so thankful for little reminders that He is in control, He knows the desires of my heart, and He has not forgotten me.  I just need to be still, be patient, trust Him, and wait.  This song was one of those special reminders for me today, and I pray that if you are like me, feeling impatient about waiting on something and maybe even trying to force it yourself, maybe this song will be a sweet blessing and prayer for you, too.

(The lyrics are written below.)

I’m tired, do I have to keep proving myself
I’m weary and drawing from an empty well
I need You more than I ever have
So Jesus come and shatter my darkness somehow

I won’t speak until You speak
I won’t move until You move me
I won’t sing, sing over me
I will wait as long as it takes

I’m restless for something significant
But I’m helpless cause I’ve done all I can
I want You more than I ever have
So Jesus come and hold me, I’m shaking right now

I won’t speak until You speak
I won’t move until You move me
I won’t sing, sing over me
I will wait as long as it takes

You are the Comforter so comfort me
You’re the Sustainer so be enough for me
You are my Father and Your love for me
Is where I find my rest

I won’t speak until You speak
I won’t move until You move me
I won’t sing, sing over me
I will wait as long as it takes

Leave a Reply

Categories

