Posted by: Andrea | October 6, 2011

Just Being Real

Insecurity. Anger. Guilt. Shame. Frustration. Anxiety. Depression. Jealousy. Worry.

Do any of these sound familiar?  I can sadly say that I have had some experience with each of these struggles, some more than others.

As much as I hate to admit it, sometimes I even go through seasons of really suffering through one (or more) of these emotions…and wonder if I’m the only one feeling that way.  I wonder what other people would think if they knew about that struggle, knew about the flaws, knew that I wasn’t quite as ‘together’ as I hoped to portray.

Something the Lord has been showing me lately is that surprisingly, I’m not at all alone in these struggles.  A shocking number of people around me are also struggling through stuff.  They are also working hard to appear to have it all together and fear what people’s reactions would be to discover they don’t.

Isn’t this sad?  Doesn’t it seem like such a waste of energy?  I’m discovering that so much comfort and healing comes from being vulnerable with people, honestly sharing about what’s going on.  Amazingly, I’m finding that when I do share my heart and some of my issues with others, it’s usually met with a similar confession from the person I’m sharing with.

So here it goes:

I struggle.

Sometimes a little bit.  Sometimes a lot.

I’m not perfect.  I don’t have it all together.  I don’t have all the answers.

And you know what?  It’s ok.  I’m a work in progress.  God is nowhere near finished with me.  He is constantly working on me, growing me, stretching me, challenging me, strengthening me, and loving me.

My hope and prayer is that there is someone who needs to hear this truth:

You are not alone, not the only one struggling through something, and certainly not the only one who doesn’t have it all together.

It’s ok to be real, to be honest.

And you know what’s great?  Whatever you might be suffering through is only temporary.  It won’t last forever.

“And after you have suffered a little while, the God of all grace, who has called you to his eternal glory in Christ, will himself restore, confirm, strengthen, and establish you.” 1 Peter 5:10

“For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all.” 2 Corinthians 4:17

Let’s keep pressing on.  Our trials are real, but they are temporary.  They are painful, but they will produce good things. They may seem overwhelming and sometimes insurmountable, but thankfully we have some sweet promises:

“I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” Philippians 4:13

“Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the LORD your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.” Deuteronomy 31:6

“Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance. Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything…Blessed is the one who perseveres under trial because, having stood the test, that person will receive the crown of life that the Lord has promised to those who love him.” James 1:2-4

“No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us.” Romans 8:37

Responses

  1. Beautiful, Andrea! And so true.

  2. Thanks for sharing this. One of the things I’ve learned through my struggles is that talking about them with a safe person helps.
    “Therefore confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed. James 5:16” God offers forgiveness as soon as we ask, but he asks us to talk to each other and pray for each other to achieve our healing and that has made a huge difference in my life. 🙂

    Be blessed

    • Yes, Naty, so very true. There is such healing and comfort in sharing with safe people (glad you mentioned ‘safe’) and allowing others to speak truth into our situations and pray for us. I wonder what it would look like if we all lived this out a little more. Maybe we wouldn’t spend so much time worrying about others finding out we’re not nearly as perfect as we’d like them to think. 🙂

  3. Love it. And love your heart. Love you. Glad to have you back in bloggy land. 🙂

    • Love YOU! Thanks for being such a rockstar friend. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

